North Northants Council replaces waste and recycling fleet

The new unitary authority, North Northamptonshire Council, is updating its waste and recycling fleet with a vehicle replacement programme comprising over 110 vehicles.

Specialist Fleet Services (SFS) was awarded the contract to provide and maintain the vehicles and workshop management services. Previously, SFS worked for Kettering and Corby Borough Councils, both of which are now part of the newly formed North Northamptonshire Council and Wellingborough and East Northants Councils.

The first vehicles began arriving at the Council’s Kettering depot in February this year and include eleven 26-tonne Refuse Collection Vehicles and two 18-tonne RCVs from Dennis Eagle, all fitted with Euro VI engines, which offer low carbon emissions. The vehicles are also equipped with onboard weighing equipment and the latest safety equipment, including the Maple DriveLock system. This technology protects vehicles against unauthorised movement or theft, the Cyclear cyclist warning device and 360° vehicle camera recording systems with LANlink automatic footage download from ISS.

Cllr Graham Lawman, Executive Member for Highways, Travel and Assets at North Northamptonshire Council, said: ‘We are very pleased to be updating our fleet at North Northamptonshire Council with SFS. These new vehicles come with additional safety features to keep our crews and members of the public safe and more efficient engines that cut fuel use and reduce air pollution. By updating our fleet, we can ensure we continue to provide residents with a reliable waste and recycling service.’

The remaining vehicles, over half of which have already been delivered, include 90+ Ford Connect and Ford Transit vans fitted with a range of different body specifications, plus a truck-mounted Scarab Sweeper. 

Bob Sweetland, Managing Director, SFS, commented: ‘We have enjoyed an excellent working relationship with Kettering Borough Council for over 17 years. We hope to continue as a key vehicle partner with North Northamptonshire Council.’