WCRAQ Chairs of Air Monitoring and Energy, Fuels and Vehicles

WCRAQ appoints new Working Party Chairs


Huddersfield/ 19/01/2021: Jason Airey, MD of CMS SupaTrak, and Ralph Wilce, Founder of Wijs Air, have been selected as Working Party Chairs for the Westminster Commission for Road Air Quality (WCRAQ). 

Jason Airey, one of WCRAQ’s founders, will take over from Richard Wenham (Central Bedfordshire Council) as Chair of the Energy, Fuels and Vehicles Working Party. Jason has extensive experience in the vehicles and fuel sector.

‘I am delighted to be able to Chair the Energy, Fuels and Vehicles Working Party, and to move objectives forward to help transport operators become more sustainable,’ said Jason. 

Stricter MOT testing 

Ralph Wilce has become the new Chair of the Air Monitoring Working Party, taking over from Roland Leigh (Earthsense), who will become Vice-Chair for the Air Monitoring Working Party. Ralph believes that finding and eliminating high polluting vehicles is key to fast and low-cost road air quality improvement. As an active member of the international NPTI working group and at EGEA in Brussels, Ralph has raised awareness of and provided justifications for stricter MOT (PTI) emission testing being implemented in Germany, The Netherlands and Belgium. ‘The working parties’ cross and trans-disciplinary approaches are already helping to focus on core objectives, increase awareness, and assist policy recommendations for the All-Parliamentary Clean Air Group,’ said Ralph. Ralph hopes to introduce keynote speakers within the context of monitoring an improvement in Road Air Quality.

ENDS/233 words

About the Westminster Commission for Road Air Quality:

The Westminster Commission for Road Air Quality is a Limited by Guarantee Social Enterprise. The Commission supports the All-Party Parliamentary Clean Air Group Vice-Chair Barry Sheerman MP for Huddersfield.

The All-Party Parliamentary Clean Air Group consists of MPs and peers who address air quality issues.

WCRAQ comprises of working parties to discuss, debate and agree on policy recommendations. These working parties provide quarterly reports for the All-Parliamentary Clean Air Group to help shape Government policies. 

  • Air Monitoring – Chair Ralph Wilce – Wijs Air
  • Air Health – Professor Sir Stephen Holgate – University Southampton
  • Education – Trewin Restorick – Hubbub
  • Energy fuels and vehicles – Jason Airey – CMS SupaTrak
  • Planning -Louise Brooke-Smith OBE – Consilio Strategic Consultancy
  • Research Associate Professor James Tate – University of Leeds

The working parties each have their own objectives which consist of actions to promote better air quality.

Barry Sheerman MP, Jason Airey, MD of CMS SupaTrak, Ash Sharma, Author and founder SKIPS Educational, and Sally Cumner, Sales and Marketing Director for CMS SupaTrak set up WCRAQ in 2020. The idea originated from Barry at an Optimised Waste and Logistics (OWL) partnership AGM in Dublin in April 2018.

Jason and Sally then set off on a journey to research air pollution.

‘We created the Commission after almost two years of investigations as we realised our Government wasn’t addressing air quality issues,’ commented Sally.

‘According to the World Health Organisation air pollution kills an estimate of about seven million people per year around the world. This number is shocking but, more importantly, it’s also preventable. By taking a deep look into one of the biggest sources of air pollution – road transport – this Commission will take an important step in solving one of the biggest health and environmental issues of our time,’ explained Barry Sheerman.

The Commission invites scientists, charities, air quality professionals, transport operations and consultancies and other qualified individuals to become part of this new initiative.

To join the Westminster Commission for Road Air Quality, please contact jason.pidgeon@visiecommunications.co.uk.

Visit the WCRAQ website at www.wcraq.com.

For more information, please, contact:

Sally Cumner

Founder WCRAQ

E: Sally.Cumner@supatrak.com

T: +44 (0) 1793 487488  

M: +44 (0) 7824 480197  


For media enquiries, please, contact

Ann-Marie Knegt

Creative Director, Visie Communications

E: am.knegt@visiecommunications.co.uk

M: +44 (0) 7888 692339

For pictures, please see below.

Pictured: Jason Airey, Chair Energy, Fuel and Vehicles

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Jason-Airey-Chair-Energy-Fuels-and-Vehicles.jpg

Pictured: Ralph Wilce, Chair Air Monitoring

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Ralph-Wilce-Chair-Air-Monitoring.jpg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *